Uncategorized

Run… to Him


PicsArt_14070819069391

Who can I run to… to fill this empty space? Who can I run to…when I need love?

I used to play Xscape so much, ever since I could download music. This song, especially, was one of the songs I would have to play on repeat when my little feelings were crushed and when someone broke my heart. This song clearly illustrates someone who desperately needs another they can run to. And as my many blog topics have been floating within my head the last 2 months, this very line describes one that I have been dealing with personally. But it also describes the human society as a whole… because we roam around trying to find affection and love to the first person that will give it to us, the first person that will lend an ear to our madness, the first person who has the open arms.

But little do we know that before we start running and trying to find someone, God is already there and the first with open arms waiting to care for you like none other.

Matthew 11:28 says that Jesus said “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest.” That pure affection. That pure love. That pure rest.

It’s so easy to want to run to someone, meaning physically, talk to someone about our problems, about our mess. (Little do people know, when they do this, not only are they are transferring some of the burden but they are transferring that energy. Have you ever felt heavy after talk to a person with problems? That’s the energy you now received from them.. as they are wanting you to carry their burden too! From experience, this is so draining, especially when you were having a great day.)

But on with the subject.

1 Peter 5:7 says to “Give all your worries and cares to God, for He cares about you.” I know this for certain that He is true to His Word, and never returns back void. So when the bible say that He cares about you, He really does. I look at it like this: God has been there with me from jumpstreet. (yeah I said jumpstreet lol) From my birth… actually before I was born… He knew who I was. When I was out in the world doing my thing, He was there. When I was out clubbing, drinking, partying…doing the after party thing, He was there. When I put my boyfriends before him, He was there. When I was hurt, He was there. And as He was there, He knew my struggles, my pain, my hurts, my joys, my cares, my feelings. God is the only one that knows who I am, what I been through. So I tell you, no one on this earth will ever know and understand you like God! No one on this earth will ever get your full picture and your every essence of why you are the way you are, but God! I guarantee no one will ever love you like God loves. His love is gentle, but strong. His love is mighty and abundant. It’s patient and understanding. His love never fails, and never runs out.

So why prance around to some Sally, Dick and Jane expecting them to understand our pain? Understand our hurt? Understand what’s bothering us? Why run to them when we need filling up? Why run to them when we need laughter and joy? Why run to them, when half of the time they will tell you what you want to hear and not NEED to hear? But yet we ignore Him who has been there every step of our lives. Probably for the reason that He is not physical and we need that physical eye contact, that physical touch that audible ‘yes, it will be OK.’

In these moments, when you feel like you need reassurance or you need someone to love, encourage, understand you, I encourage you to stop in your tracks before thinking about transferring your negative energy to someone else, look at all of your life’s blessing and what you do have to be thankful for and then listen to the Holy Spirit inside of you. God wants us to be available to Him sometimes. We need to get to a point where we need alone time with God every day. I know I feel like that sometimes. When life is giving me lemons, I ask God, ok, so what are you trying to tell me? I need that one on one with Him, because truly and honestly, I can’t get that whole talking with anyone else BUT God. Because he knows me, and understands me.

I pray this has blessed someone, because it is blessing me writing this. I love God so much to not put Him first in my life. Be blessed.

Xoxo,

Amber

1 thought on “Run… to Him”

  1. Pingback: Conversation |

Leave a comment